Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Parents’ Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

Exciting times ahead for you and your child


What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?


Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.


Click on the link below to read the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare

  •  The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge 

  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS 

  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”

Click on the link below to view the developmental stages within the Early Years across each area of learning.

Click on the areas of learning to find out what we will be learning and how you can help your child at home.